How to lock your site in maintenance mode or coming soon mode
For some reasons, you may want to lock your site in maintenance mode or in coming soon mode. When you lock your site in maintenance or coming soon mode, only the one who has logged in as admin may see and browse the site. All other users may be locked behind the maintenance or coming soon page so that all they may see may be the maintenance or coming soon page. However, they may be able to see the admin log-in page but they may not be able to log into the site since they may not be admin and may not have the admin log-in credentials.
To lock your site in maintenance or coming soon mode, you may follow the steps below:
- Log into the admin part of your site.
- Go to "Global Settings".
- A page may appear where you may see the forms for global settings.
- Click on "Maintenance Settings".
- The maintenance settings form may appear.
- Fill in the maintenance settings form and then save the form by clicking on the "Submit Settings" button.
- Your site may be locked in maintenance mode or may be removed from maintenance mode depending on the settings you make.
NOTE: while you are still logged in as admin, you may not realize that your site has gone in maintenance or coming soon mode. Log out and you may see that your site is in maintenance or coming soon mode if indeed you have set it to be in maintenance or coming soon mode.